School Council

All government schools in Western Australia are encouraged to have a School Council. They are legally formed bodies that are given authority to set the key directions of a school within centrally provided guidelines. In doing this, a School Council is able to directly influence the quality of education the school provides for its students.

The functions of School Council are to take part in:

  • Establishing and reviewing from time to time, the school’s objectives, priorities and general policy directions,
  • The planning of financial arrangements necessary to fund those objectives, priorities and directions,
  • Evaluating the school’s performance in achieving them
  • Formulating codes of conduct for students at the school.
  • Determine, in consultation with students, their parents and staff a dress code for students when they are attending or representing the school
  • Promote the school in the community.

The School Council approves:

  • charges and contributions for the provision of certain materials, services and facilities
  • extra cost optional components of educational programs
  • items to be supplied by a student for personal use in an educational program, and
  • any agreements or arrangements for advertising or sponsorship in relation to the school.

The School Council is essentially a decision making group. It represents the school community in the process of school planning and policy development.

2020 School Councillors

Helen Thorne, Chairperson (Parent Representative) –

Chuck Berger, Vice Chairperson (Parent Representative) –

Rosemary Taffinder, Community Representative –

Justine de Candia, Parent Representative –

Daniel Faricy, P&C Representative –

Priscilla Williams, Indigenous Representative –

Natasha Storey, Indigenous Representative

Paula Cooney, Community Representative

VACANT, Community Representative

VACANT, Parent Representative

Bronwyn Wright, Principal –

Michaela Olawsky, Staff Representative –

Kellie Jackson, Staff Representative –

Matt Dowell, Staff Representative –

Sara Smith, Staff Representative –