Home Secondary

Senior School

Senior School

This information is mainly for students currently enrolled in Year 10. It is designed to provide a reference point for the Western Australian Certificate of Education (WACE) requirements, university and TAFE requirements and other vital information.  The School Curriculum and Standards Authority (SCSA) provide additional information about assessment and certification.  The Tertiary Institutions Service Centre (TISC) regularly updates its website with information relevant to students who plan to attend a university.

Further information and advice is also available to you and your parents from school staff such as counsellors, Year Coordinators, the Vocational Education and Training (VET) coordinator and Deputy Principals.

By law, all student must remain in education, training or approved employment until the student reaches the age of 17 years and 6 months.

EKC Secondary School

There are many acronyms that you should be aware of:

ATAR – Australian Tertiary Admission Rank – ATAR courses are designed for students who are aiming to enrol in a university course directly from school. These courses will be examined by the Authority and contribute to the achievement of an ATAR. An ATAR is used to determined eligibility for university entrance.  Students will need to study a minimum of 4 ATAR courses in Year 11 and 4 in Year 12 to be eligible for an ATAR.  In Year 12 students will study more difficult unit pairs (Units 3 and 4).  50% of a student’s final score in an ATAR course is determined at the school and 50% is determined by the externally set exam.

OLNA – Online Literacy and Numeracy Assessment – If you have not pre-qualified in reading, writing or numeracy you are required to sit the corresponding component/s of the OLNA in Semester 1 of Year 10. If you do not meet the standard in Semester 1, then you must sit the OLNA in Semester 2, Year 10, and, if required, Semester 1, Year 11. You will have up to six opportunities (in March and September of each year) before completing Year 12 to demonstrate the WACE minimum standard of literacy and numeracy.

SCSA – the School Curriculum and Standards Authority
The Authority – the School Curriculum and Standards Authority

TISC – Tertiary Institutions Service Centre – The Tertiary Institutions Service Centre (TISC) is a company limited by guarantee, whose shareholders are Curtin University, Edith Cowan University, Murdoch University and The University of Western Australia.

VET – Vocational Education and Training – VET qualifications are for students wishing to participate in nationally recognised training. All VET qualifications require registered training organisation (RTO) delivery, assessment and quality control under the relevant VET regulatory body. A Certificate II or higher is one of the range of requirements for achieving a WACE. VET credit transfer can contribute up to eight of the 20 units you need to achieve your WACE. These qualifications contribute to the WACE as unit equivalents.

WACE – Western Australian Certificate of Education – The WACE is awarded by the School Curriculum and Standards Authority (Authority) when students successfully meet the requirements of the WACE.

If you wish to achieve a WACE, the Authority requires you to complete at least four Year 12 Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR) courses or a Certificate II (or higher) VET qualification.

WASSA – Western Australian Statement of Student Achievement – The WASSA is issued to each Year 12 student at the completion of their senior secondary schooling. Senior secondary school typically takes two years. The WASSA lists all courses and programs that a student has completed and the grades and marks achieved.

KEFL – Kimberley Education for Life – offers school-based traineeships.

USI – Unique Student Identifier – A USI is needed for every student undertaking nationally recognised training, including students undertaking VET in Schools programs, part time TAFE, apprentices and trainees. For students, the USI will build an online record of their nationally recognised training. This will improve students’ access to their current and future training records and streamline data exchange between students, training providers and other stakeholders.

Endorsed programs can be delivered in a variety of settings by schools, community organisations, universities, training organisations and workplaces.  The list of endorsed programs is available on the Authority website. You should discuss endorsed programs opportunities with the appropriate staff member at your school. These programs provide access to areas of learning not covered by WACE courses or VET programs and contribute to the WACE as unit equivalents. Endorsed programs may replace up to two Year 11 course units and two Year 12 course units you need to achieve your WACE.

For information about the programs refer to http://senior-secondary.scsa.wa.edu.au/syllabus-and-support-materials.

Looking for some study secrets?

Study Secrets is the #1 study book and guide for students in Western Australia. Released only six months ago, Study Secrets has already had over 5000+ eBook downloads and has been a valuable study asset for students across Australia. The book was written by Former WA Youth Ambassador and Youth Coach, David Castelanelli.

East Kimberley College Secondary Student